Queen honours our community workers

By Jonathan Levy

A MANCHESTER community worker and a Rochdale housing officer have received royal recognition in this year’s the New Year Honours List.

Nasrullah Khan Moghal, 62, chief executive of the Manchester Council for Community Relations, has been awarded an MBE for his 14 years of service to providing top-quality community relations in the city.

Mr Moghal said: “I am delighted to be awarded such a prestigious honour.

“I cannot thank my colleagues enough for nominating me but this award is tribute to the hard work done by each and every one of my staff.”

Mr Moghal’s main roles as chief executive include working to ensure community cohesion is strong whilst preventing any strife or tension.

He aims to maintain community cohesion over the coming year in light of international terrorism and conflicts between religions.

Ghulam Rasul Shahzad, was awarded an OBE for services to Social Housing and to the community in Rochdale.

Mr Sahzad said: “I express my gratitude to all the organisations I have worked for, agencies, services, schools, individuals and, above all, the people of Rochdale, and members of my family for their continued support over many years.

“Without this support, these achievements would not be possible.”

One Response

  1. Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe! I’ll go and read some more! What do you see the future of this being?

Leave a Reply

